Sykesville Line Officers Named For 2024-25
By Public Information Officer Bill Rehkopf
January 2, 2024

The Sykesville-Freedom District Fire Department has named its line officers for the 2024-25 term.

Chief Ed Ruch, Jr. will continue to lead the department's operational division. Joe Dennis and Dave Polikoff will continue to serve in deputy chief roles, while Kevin Larkins has been promoted from Captain to deputy chief.

Tim Deklau will continue to serve in the rank of Captain, while Bruce Fleming returns to the line staff as Captain 12-1.

In the rank of Lieutenant, Scott Benedict, David Ruffle and Chris Staley have been promoted to wear the blue helmet.

Serving in the rank of Fire Sergeant will be Ben Robinson, Marlin Wagner, Andrew Reed, Sean Foreman and Nick Nobisch.

On the EMS side of the Operations Division, Shannon Beheler will serve as EMS Captain, with Jennifer Donovan, Alyssa Volpe and Julie Kendall named EMS Lieutenants.

Congratulations and best wishes to all of the officers as they begin another year of volunteer service to the department and their community!